This Will Be: March 2014

I’m testing out a new way of setting monthly goals. This may change as I go forward with the year, but I realized that just like I have split my yearly goals into categories, it would probably be helpful to split my monthly goals into categories as well. Not only will this give my some consistency, it will also give these posts a bit more of a formula to follow.

My categories are career and finance, education, relationships, and health.

Career and Finance

Obviously, since March is the end of the first quarter of the year, I am trying to complete the first quarter goals for Planning Freedom, one of which is finding a job. I had hoped to have more of a lead by now, but this month I am going to be applying to a few temporary things along with continuing to network and look for a permanent position.

Meanwhile, I received tax forms in the mail last month and have been avoiding doing anything with them. I’d like to file for both federal and state tax returns this month so that I don’t have to panic in April.

Education

My reading goal this year is 50 books and so far I’ve only finished three. Womp womp. To make up some time I’d like to finish five books this month. I have four (maybe more?) in the works already, so this shouldn’t be too hard. Honestly, I think the hardest part is making sure to record the books I’ve read when I’ve finished them. I could’ve sworn I’ve read more than three book already this month.

This doesn’t quite fit under education, but I’m not sure that education is actually quite the word I’m looking for with this category. Another Planning Freedom goal is to re-organize my blog. This larger goal will almost certainly extend into the second quarter, but this month I’m going to be working on a mission statement for the blog and a photo shoot for a new header and profile picture.

Relationships

Not so much a goal as just an exciting thing that’s happening this month, but my old roommates are coming to visit me this month. I’ve seen them a few times since leaving Chicago, but it will be good to reconnect.

Health

Probably the simplest goal, but also the least often done, I’d like to go to two yoga classes this month. That’s not even a class a week. I think I can manage this.

Other

A few little things that I’m not sure how to categorize. My scooter’s license plate expires this month, so I need to figure out how to renew that, and the sooner the better.

And a rollover from last month that I didn’t get to. I want to clean my apartments windows from the outside. I live on the first floor so this is possible, I just didn’t get to it last month because when I finally scheduled a day to do it, there was a monster rainstorm.

 

One thought on “This Will Be: March 2014

  1. This Has Been: March 2014 | Rachel Ann

Leave a Reply

