On Being an Introvert

It’s not that I don’t love my family.  I love each and every one of them (more or less) individually.  It’s just when they’re all together that it gets a little crazy.

I choose to see this not really as a statement on my family as it is a statement on my own personality.  I am an introvert.  I gather my strength from spending time alone.  This is something I’m actually quite proud of.  Self sufficient and all that.  Don’t need a man to complete me kind of thing (not that any has ever tried too hard).  I like this about myself.

And so, this is why, when Dad and Uncle went on a bike ride; Tia, Uncle, and Sister went shopping; and Grandpa’s, Uncle and Mom went to the warves, I choose to stay home.  Alone.

Sweet freedom.

I played on my computer.  I watched absorbent amounts of Television, and I didn’t put real clothes on until after lunch.  I reveled in having a house, recently full of extra family all to myself.  And no matter what they said to me afterward, I didn’t regret it for a moment.

I love my family.  But I love my alone time too.

In other news.  My little sister graduated from high school today.  Congratulations Jojo!!!  (Jojo means sister in our not-so-secret language)

Leave a Reply

