Have the Girls Gone Wild?

If you’re remotely interested in TV and I’ve seen you in the past month or so, I’ve probably asked you if you’ve seen Girls.  Yes, the hype has now died down a bit from the premiere, but I have been wavering on it for so long that only now am I properly coming up with my two cents.  Also, it’s been difficult to watch as I don’t have HBO.

Girls is a new show on HBO that’s basically the Lena Dunham hour.  She wrote it, created it, has directed some episodes, and is the star.  It’s about a group of girls living in New York, trying to figure out how to make a living and not screw up.  The focus is on Hannah (played by Dunham), who in the first episode is cut off from her parents who have been supporting her since she graduated college, and her roommates who don’t seem to be that much more put together than she is.  Given that it’s HBO she has been given free reign of content.  Anything is up fro grabs and they capitalize on it.  There is lot’s of sex, lots of “mature themes”, a generous helping of cursing, and a sprinkling of drugs.

To be honest, I’m still not sure how I feel about it.  On the one hand I feel as if I’m supporting the whitewashing of American media if I say anything in it’s support.  I’m saying that I’m okay with the amount of sex that’s there.  I’m saying that Hannah is right to have been so dependent on her parents for so long (or a bunch of other things she does).  And I’m not saying that.  I’m not okay with these things.  But on the other hand…

There is a truth to it.  Lena Durham is writing from her own experiences, and who are we to say that’s wrong?  Not to say that it’s awesome that her experiences don’t seem to include anyone outside of her ethnicity, but that’s sort of her problem.  What makes it good is the authenticity of it.  Because of it’s perspective, Girls has a sense of believability even amid some of the more are-you-freaking-kidding-me moments.

I think my biggest issue with it is that Hannah’s actions don’t seem to be at all logical. Take opium and then go ask her parents for money.  Proposition her boss!?  Going on a date with a guy from home while she has a sort of boyfriend.  These kind of things make me want to throw things at the TV (or more likely the computer).  Seriously!?!

Part of me wants to hate it.  Because there is no diversity what-so-ever.  Because I believe that amount of sex in one show is outlandish and unnecessary.  Because I would be unspeakably uncomfortable watching this with my parents.  But there are parts that I kind of like.  Not the sex or the whitewashedness of it, but other parts.  Like how the dialect seems to real.  Like the uncomfortable situations that I can on some level relate to.  And it’s those reasons that I seem to keep coming back to it.  I doubt that I will ever be more than a casual observer, but as many problems as it has, Girls also has it’s moments of brilliance.

Have you been watching Girls?  What do you think?

More TV related things

2 thoughts on “Have the Girls Gone Wild?

  1. Rambling List « Rachel Ann

  2. Oh Cable Television, How do I Love Thee? Let Me Count the Ways! « Rachel Ann

Leave a Reply

