Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The End

1-68259

It took me six years to finish Buffy the Vampire Slayer, nearly a decade after it has been on the air, and now that I’m finally through it all I can’t shut up about it.  Friends, acquaintances, and strangers have all fallen victim to my renditions of “Once More With Feeling” (among other related topics).  Slowly, I am publishing my thoughts on the series.  Other topics covered so far include: The Beginning, Fun vs. Serious, ‘Ships, Character Growth, and Foreshadowing.

And so, as I return home, our exploration of Buffy comes to an end.  If anyone is reading this who hasn’t watched the show yet, I hope I’ve convinced you to at least give it a shot (watch it in order, or I can give you an alternate order to watch it in that will mess with your brain. Email me).  Buffy the Vampire Slayer has by far been some of my favorite television to watch.  The series easily ranks in my top 5 favorite shows.

Every part of the creative team for this show was at the top of their game.  Year after year, season after season, the show kept outdoing itself.  And I can’t wait to see what these people do next.

Of course, the big question is: What Next?  What do I watch now that there is no more Buffy?  What will I talk about in this space now that I’ve run out of Buffy to talk about?  To answer the last question first, I will never run out of things to talk about with this show.

There are so many things I still have to say about Buffy.  Some of them I want to talk about within regards to other Joss Whedon series.  Similarities between the Buffy‘verse, Dollhouse, and Firefly anyone?  And let’s throw Dr. Horrible in there for good measure.  Granted, I have to finish Dollhouse and Angel first.  So I guess that’s my starting point.  Angel, Dollhouse, then the Buffy comics.

I’m going to end this fangirl style with a list of my favorites.  Episodes, parings, characters, what have you.

Love: High School speak, “The Puppet Show”, High School Willow, Giles and Jenny, the fact that Kendra exists, Spike, “I Only Have Eyes for You”  Faith, “Band Candy”, “The Wish”, Spike’s friendship with Joyce, “Doppelgangland”, how well the show grows up with the characters, Spike being a regular, Anya’s bluntness, “Something Blue”, “Hush”, Willow and Tara, Dawn, Spuffy, “The Body”, the Magic Box, “Once More With Feeling”, the three have a freeze-ray, the return to high school, Andrew is their hostage, Faith’s return, “Lies My Parent’s Told Me”, the Potentials, “Touched”, and the School Bus (of all things).

What are your favorite parts of Buffy?  If you haven’t seen it, what’s been keeping you from trying?  Is there anything glaringly obvious that I missed?  Help me correct my mistake.

This week in Whedon Wednesday: Eulogy for Anya Jenkins.

2 thoughts on “Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The End

  1. Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Foreshadowing « Rachel Ann

  2. My Year in Television « Rachel Ann

Leave a Reply

