Quality and Quantity, Goals for a New Year (School Year That Is)

I’m sure I’m not the only one to often be torn between the two equal, but opposing idols of quality and quantity in my blogging.  Quality: I want create content that is meaningful to myself and to those reading.  I want to be proud of the work I am putting forward.  Quantity: I want to be consistent in putting work out and having things to show off to people.  Some part of me is saying that if I don’t have fresh content every day, there’s no point to blogging at all.

Logically I know that there is a happy medium between the two that brings forth consistent quality in regular quantities, but the battle is finding that balance.  The balance between the two is something I’ve been striving for since I began this blog, nearly a year and a half ago.

I began blogging because I thought I had something to share, though I didn’t know at the time (and sometimes still don’t know) what that was.  Since then I have changed platforms and blog names willy-nilly, trying to guess as to what was working and what wasn’t.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not claiming to have figured it out, but I am slowly figuring out how blogging fits into my life, and with that figuring out comes a few changes.

To start with, as of now I am committing to publishing four blog posts a week.  These will be published Monday to Thursday right in a row.  The thought being that:

  • One day (Monday) I will post about writing.  Lately this has come as a part of my Writing About Writing posts which I am hoping to continue though the school year.  I feel that these posts have been helpful to me in keeping a discipline of sorts, and will help me to find a balance between school work, blogging, and for fun writing now that school is starting.
  • One day (Wednesday) I will post about Television or other media in some form or another.  This may take the form of reviews, questions, critical thinking and the like.  In the coming weeks this will likely be discussion of new shows and new seasons of existing shows.
  • The other two days (Tuesday and Thursday) will be more ambiguous.  Right now I have travel related posts in the works in regards to my recent seven week stint abroad.  I am also planning to share pictures, cooking adventures, monthly reviews, and 21 Before 21 (soon to be 22 Before 22) successes and failures.

This is my plan as of right now, which — I’m guessing — will bend and change as my needs and blogging goals shift.  For now I will not be compiling links posts at the end of the week.  While I enjoy pointing out blog posts and articles that I have been reading throughout the week, many of the sites the links I cultivate are from are on a different level than I am, and it feels slightly strange to give nods to them when they are so far out of my league.

Something else I will be changing soon is the name of this here blog.  Since I made the switch to WordPress I simply put my name as the title, knowing even then that I would want to change it, but not knowing what to change it to.  I have finally decided on a name, and will be making the official switch soon as well as changing the custom banner at the top of the page (while keeping the layout I have currently as I like it’s simplicity).

Leave a Reply

