All the Shows!!

After watching the Doctor Who premiere this past weekend we are officially in premiere season for new television (in my mind at least).  This is a wonderfully exciting time for me as I have an urge to watch all the shows, but really must choose only a handful to commit to so that I don’t go crazy.  I think it’s only fair to explain my reasoning as we go.  A straight list is on my TV Watch List.

Note: I’m only talking about network shows in this post.  Cable TV is it’s own world which I would like to talk about as well, but not right now.

I don’t think Sunday nights have changed much in the past few years. Walter Cronkite, The Amazing Race, and Fox’s Animation Domination.  This year however, CBS is messing with the football schedule and it will likely go even later that before.  Great for all those football fans, but not so much for those of us interested in The Good Wife or The Mentalist.  This makes it sort of a lost time slot and I don’t really understand why they even try to put new programming after football games, but I’m not a network exec.  I’ll watch: Once Upon A Time, The Good Wife, and The Mentalist (the last two only if I can find them online).

Monday is a strange mix of staples and a few new things.  The new things that are there are in the same vein as what’s already there and will probably do pretty well.  Scuttlebutt on the set I was on at the beginning of the summer tells me that Partners is a rip off of a 90’s show.  I’m curious, but cautious.  Revolution on the other hand has got my full attention.  Sci-fi and JJ. Abrams?  I’m in.  I’m also interested in trying to catch up with Bones.  Granted that may be wanting more David Boreanaz in my life with all the Angel I’ve been watching lately.  I’ll watch: Partners (tentatively), Bones, and Revolution.

New comedies galore on Tuesday.  I’m interested in a few, but not invested yet.  We’ll have to see how the season goes.  I’ll be sticking with what I already watch here for the most part, but adding a few and returning to a few long lost friends.  I’ll watch: NCIS, NCIS:LA, Ben and Kate, New Girl, and The Mindy Project

Wednesday seems to be home of the new and the questionable.  Maybe because I’ve been out of the country all summer, but I haven’t heard of much of the new stuff here.  ABC’s Wednesday comedy night will likely be good and CBS seems to have a lineup of solid shows.  Other than that?  I dunno.  I’ll watch: The Middle and Modern Family (unless I hear some spectacular reviews of something new here).

Another day that hasn’t changed much in Thursday.  Therefore I don’t have a lot to say about it.  The one I’m kind of excited about is Elementary.  I’ve seen some previews for it which sound cool, and I’m interested to see how it will play out.  I will definately be tuning in.  Lot’s of questions though, if it turns out to be a rip off of Sherlock, I’m going to be a bit ticked.  I’ll watch: The Big Bang Theory and Elementary.

And the most eclectic grouping of shows award goes to Friday.  I’m calling it cult mash up night.  Generally, Friday nights is where shows go to die which is solidly true for Fringe and Community, but of which are on their final season (or half season in the case of Fringe).  I don’t even care I am unabashedly excited for both of these show’s returns.  I’ll watch: Fringe and Community.  Duh.

Overall, it’s looking like it will be a pretty good season.  I have my reservations about a few of the comedies coming up, but I try not to trash talk on the internet, so I’ll just keep them to myself and sing a little I told you so dance to some friends if/when some of them get canceled.  Yup, sounds about right.

5 thoughts on “All the Shows!!

  1. I recently watched Elementary and I can confirm that the only similarities between it and Sherlock are the characters. It’s totally different and rather good as well.

    As for your list, there are a few staples on there. You should see the size of mine…

      • I posted it on Twitter. To be honest, while my list is somewhat larger right now due to wanting to check out a lot of new shows (a lot of which will inevitably end up being lacklustre), I’m still wondering how on Earth I can keep up with such a schedule.

  2. A New Medium For A New Year: A TV Wishlist « Rachel Ann

Leave a Reply

