On the Fringe

Click through to watch on Hulu.

To say that I was a late adapter of Fringe would be a bit of an understatement.  It’s not that I wasn’t interested.  Just that I was busy.  I can’t quite remember with what I was busy with, but shhh, that’s irrelevant.  I’ve found it now, and it’s absolutely fantastic in a way that I will never be ashamed of my love for it.

I decided to jump on the Fringe bandwagon last year at the beginning of season 4.  I was told by multiple people not to do that.  I had to watch it from the beginning, there was so much I didn’t know, all that good stuff.  But, straightly put I didn’t have the level of commitment for that.  So despite the protests of those around me I jumped in to a world where none of the characters could remember a main character that I didn’t know to begin with.

The great part of Fringe (and there’s a lot) is that in many ways no matter where you start, you’re going to be confused, so you may as well start anywhere that interests you (please, do).  The cases of the Fringe Division are going to be transfixing no matter where you are in the story, and each season’s stories are more or less self-contained.

In the current season, we have fast forwarded about two decades to a world where the observers, an unknown presence in every season before this, have taken over the world.  It’s insane and wonderful all at the same time.  And in the last episode it just got fantastic.

If you are looking for a show that is not afraid to take risks then look no further.  Fringe continues to do things story-wise that according to everything ever should not be done.  They’ve made characters disappear, killed characters off and then brought them back in alternate universes, and skipped 20 years with no direct explanation of what happened in the time we missed.

Unfortunately due to low ratings this will be the final season.  Regardless, from the interaction I’ve been seeing on Twitter, it has been a well-watched and well-liked season so far.  Give it a look if you’re at all interested.

One thought on “On the Fringe

  1. Why Fringe was so Revolutionary, Thoughts on the Series Finale « Rachel Ann

Leave a Reply

