Writing About Writing (week of October 29)

Monday: Emails
Tuesday: school – WDP #7
Wednesday: nothing
Thursday: journal – dream
Friday: school – article response
Saturday: blog – The 30% Rule
Sunday: school – WDP #8
school – 3 pages (outline) of script

This week my writing goal (if it can be called that) was to set up a system to better handle my emails.  I get a lot of emails from projects being worked on for school, for work, and miscellaneous things.  I think I did a pretty good job on that goal.  Each day I would create a list of emails throughout the day that needed to be sent by the end of the day, then before I went to bed I would sit down and check every name off the list.

I love this list idea to no end.  Here’s how it works.  Each entry is the person or group’s name, a dash, and then the bullet-ed list of what I need to include in the email.  So one entry would look like, “Chris–location of meeting next week” and then another could look like this, “Market Artists–Interview opportunities”  Each day’s list tended to be five to ten items long and completely do-able in about 20 minutes near the end of the day.  Bonus, this means that I get to check things off the list as I go.  I love checking things off of lists!!!

This next week is going to be very busy across the board.  While this is the week of break from my production schedule, I have to attend meetings to prepare for the final week of production next week.  I also have to get as much work as possible done in the front half of the week as I am going to visit my sister next weekend.  I may be able to do some work while I’m there, but don’t want to leave too much.

All that being said, I think my main goal for the next week is to keep a clear head.  I have been reading this weekend about organizing my inner life as well as my outer life, so with that in mind I am just hoping to get through the mess with my priorities in order.

Leave a Reply

