Spreicst du Deutsche?

This week I got back the first exam of the semester if German.  To say that I didn’t do very well would be a catastrophic understatement.  This simultaneously confirms that I should never ever take language classes and that I really need to kick it into high gear for the next round coming up.

It’s not just the test that I’m frustrated with though.  I’ve never been a good test-taker, so to not do well on a test is unsurprising to me.  The frustrating part is that I just want to be able to speak German already.  I figured after spending some time there this summer and working a whole semester and a half on it now, I would have gotten better.  No cigar.

I understand that no matter how much I learn and how close I get I will never be able to speak German fluently.  That’s not in the cards for me, and that’s fine.  But I’m waiting for it to click into the realm of actually making sense.  This is the furthest I’ve gotten in any foreign language ever, and I’m so happy to have made it this far.  But there is still so far to go.

Every time I would try to speak German over the summer the person I was speaking to would watch me struggle for a little while and then suggest, “Prefer English?”, to which I would have to respond a reluctant yes.  But in actuality I would not prefer English, I would prefer to be able to speak German, but as that option doesn’t really exist, yes, we can go with English.

Through everything though, German is one of my favorite classes this semester because of the group we have.  There are only eight of us in the class and we have such a fun time.  We

One thought on “Spreicst du Deutsche?

  1. Writing About Writing (week of November 5) « Rachel Ann

Leave a Reply

