If It Ain’t Broke, Fix It Anyway

As mentioned last week, I’ve taken to crafting while I watch TV.  And considering that I watch a lot of TV, that’s a lot of crafting to be done.  Since then I’ve finished up the scarf I was working on, and started on sewing pockets for a jacket, a project that I’ve been meaning to get to for… probably about two years now.

The thing is, I love the idea of fixing clothing and other thrifty finds so that they are wearable if they weren’t before, but often find myself failing to do so.  Even the best of intentions tend to fall apart when not prioritizing.

While I am still working on the jacket, a completed example of this is sewing softer backs on a pair of flats that I loved, but were wildly uncomfortable.  It didn’t take a too much.  Only a handful of episodes of Leverage, but it was so nice to be able to wear the shoes for a full day without worrying about foot pain.

It got me thinking.  There are a lot of uncomfortable things that we come across in life, but we don’t always fix them.  They’ll do the job, and as long as it’s not too crazy, we’ll deal with the discomfort.

But why?  If something is easy enough to fix, why don’t we go ahead and do it?  Do we not want to rock that boat?  If we change a situation then we can focus on much more important things, a point that often times is overlooked.

I think sometimes we are so focused on what other people will think of us, that we don’t take the time to figure out what’s best for us.  The truth is that everyone else is likely to be equally focused on themselves and will probably not notice you working a scenario for your own benefit.  If they do notice instead of thinking “They shouldn’t be doing that” your onlooker is likely thinking “That’s really smart, I should try that”.

So give it a shot.  Make an uncomfortable situation better.  You’ll breathe easier and be able to focus on more important things.  Like scheduling in time to watch your favorite show or hang out with your besties.

Leave a Reply

