Writing About Writing (week of March 4)

Monday: journal (2)
Tuesday: journal (1)
Wednesday: school – predictions
Thursday: school – premise notes
Friday: journal (2)
school – summary of spec
Saturday: blog – this post
blog – 2 weeks in
blog – WMY der film
Sunday:

Last week was… a little bit bizarre.  Since I came in with no expectations what-so-ever, I’m not quite sure how it’s measuring up.  I suppose I thought I’d be doing more writing, but as it is I’m reading a lot of scripts which is fantastic research.  I’m just not sure how to count that as a part of my reading goals.  My writing goal last week was to focus almost entirely on school and to that I’ll say–success!

There are two big projects in the course of this program.  One is that each individual is writing a spec script for an existing show.  I am hesitant to say what I’m specing here, because I’m still nervous over weather I’m going to be able to pull it off.  I’ll be totally honest, I’ve never finished a full length spec script in my life, so this will be a feat to pull off.  Guys, pray for me.

The second project is a collaborative effort in which we are developing our own TV pilot.  I’m really excited about this project and I’m hoping that something awesome comes from it.  I’m already putting together my dream cast and planning episodes into season 2.  I should probably stop that though, since every time I start that, my ideas get turned around when I start talking with the group.  It’s just a really fun project and I’m excited to see where it goes.

This week is going to be more of the same school-wise, with a little bit of amping up writing wise.  We are going to have a beat sheet and outline for out specs by the end of the week and will be able to start writing them in ernest.  Hopefully I’ll be able to hit the ground running and get off to a good start.

Leave a Reply

