My Alternative Life

When things get stressful I look for a way out.  I turn an idea into a not-very-well-thought-out plan to escape my life.  I’ve never acted on any of these, and doubt that I will in the foreseeable future, but here are some of the plans I’ve come up with to escape my life.

  • Backpack the Adirondack trail from start to finish.  (When living on the east coast)
  • Drop out of school and go to culinary school.  (Reoccurring throughout my first year of college, especially around finals and when unfinished projects were due the next day)
  • Just find some younger politician and start working as their secretary.  (Because one of my role models in life is Donna Moss of The West Wing)
  • Become a nanny in San Francisco.  (Because I’m good with kids and I freaking love that city so much)
  • Move to [Cambodia, Tokyo, India, or Morocco] and blog about it.  (Mostly sophomore year, especially around the time of Freq Out, but also through last semester)
  • Buy a live-in van and become a climbing bum.  Blog about it.  (A dream in high school that returned after climbing in Colorado)
  • Become a ride operator at Disneyland.  (Mostly while visiting there)
  • Sleep on my friend’s couch in Berlin and hide from their immigration agents by becoming a perfect German girl.  (After reading about What Moves You reunions all over Germany)
  • Drop out and go to Eurythmy school.  (A few months ago, after going to a Eurythmy performance)
  • Or just do Waldorf Teacher Training and hope for the best.  (In the same vein as above)
  • Ride the Trans-Siberian Railroad from end to end.  (Always)
  • Just move to LA and start working.  Do I really need a degree? (Still considering this one)

These day dreams are all a form of escapism.  I think of all the things I could be doing that would be more fun than writing an essay or a script.  Of all the places I would rather be than in my bedroom facing a mountain of homework.

I consider it a tribute to my awesome friends and family that none of these have ever actually come into being.  Whenever I start to think more seriously about one, someone will drag me back to the present.  My friends remind me of all the good things in my life.  My family encourages me to stick it out when school gets tough.  And I can’t thank them enough.

2 thoughts on “My Alternative Life

Leave a Reply

