Of Musical Stories

Music has been a passion of mine since I was an infant.  More specifically, singing.  I sing pretty much all the freaking time.  Ask anyone who’s ever been around me for more than ten minutes.  When I was in middle school I started taking voice lessons and continued through high school.  I stopped when I went to college because I didn’t know how to find a place, but may try to start again sometime because it’s a blast.

Because of this background I am most well versed in Broadway, leading to this: a list of musicals that I know backwards and forwards till the end of time.  I’ll warn you that this list may have gotten a little out of hand.  Or a lot.  What can I say?  I’m sorry I’m not sorry.

  1. The Sound of Music is my all time favorite movie.  Still.  The story is timeless and true, the music is beautiful, and Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer are perfect.  I sometimes daydream about the dance in the movie being a part of my wedding.
  2. Les Miserables.  I was so excited when I heard they were going to turn this into a movie.  So excited.  I learned a few of these songs over the years in voice lessons, but truly learned the soundtrack after having seen it right before it went off Broadway in New York.
  3. Hairspray was my first Broadway show.  That might be a lie, but it was certainly one of the most memorable.  My aunt took me to see it for Christmas one year and I catch myself singing the songs every once and a while.  Sometimes you just gotta Run An’ Tell That.
  4. RENT.  Oh the controversy.  I was not allowed to watch this when the movie came out, but learned most of the soundtrack through friends.  We would sing it during our lunch period and memories pieces to perform for each other.
  5. Wicked is wicked good (I’m also a fan of bad puns).  I’ve been to see this three times and had fantastic seats every time.  Such a great show.
  6. The Wizard of Oz will forever be one of my favorite childhood stories.  At one point I had an audio tape of the movie and would play it on repeat.  I’m not actually sure that this counts as a proper musical, but there is plenty of singing in it, so I’ll go ahead and add it to the list.
  7. Mary Poppins.  I watch/listen to the 1964 Julie Andrews movie version and this was another favorite of my childhood.
  8. Across the Universe is another may not count one, but I know the Across the universe version of most of the songs better than I know the Beatles version, sorry to say.  So here it is on the list.
  9. Once Upon A Mattress was my high school’s musical when I was a junior.  It was a blast.  I missed the auditions, so I was a chorus member, but it was so much fun I didn’t even mind.
  10. Anything Goes was another high school production, but done the year after I left.  I somehow wound up with a burned CD of the music though and can sing along to most of it.  I also saw the more recent Broadway version when it was in San Francisco a few months ago, and that version made me want to take tap.  One day.
  11. Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog is being counted because Joss Whedon.
  12. Once More With Feeling (Buffy musical episode) is also being counted.  See above reason.

Honorable Mention (I know a few songs, but would be overshooting to claim the entire show): Oliver!, Phantom of the Opera, The Music Man, anything Disney (because there’s too many to count properly), Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Bye Bye Birdie, White Christmas, Splendora, Chicago, West Side Story, Cabaret, Doctor Doolittle, You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown, Fiddler on the Roof, Grease, Annie, Little Shop of Horrors, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Enchanted, and Sweeney Todd.

What are your favorite musicals?  Do you randomly burst into song?

One thought on “Of Musical Stories

  1. oh my gosh, this list forever. musicals are my jam. i want so badly to be able to add something but i feel like you totally got them all! oh, i do really love jersey boys and guys and dolls!

    now if you’ll excuse me i’m going to go watch once more with feeling on repeat.

Leave a Reply

