Writing About Writing (week of May 6)

Monday: journal (2)
Tuesday: journal (4)
blog – YouTube and Gen. C
Wednesday: journal (2)
Thursday: journal (4)
blog – Mother’s Day
Friday: journal (2)
Saturday: journal (3)
blog – You Should Know
blog – Haircut
Sunday: journal (3)

I sort of fell off the wagon here.  Part of me doesn’t really want to talk about it, but the reason I start me week with this is as a reminder of what I’ve accomplished even if it’s a focus on what I haven’t accomplished.  I wrote some blog content, and did a lot of journaling, but didn’t even open the document on my original spec all week.

Last week was tough.  I finally found out the state of my petition to the school, only to quickly discover that it had been approved much earlier than I anticipated and I simply hadn’t been informed.  I’m not going to entirely blame my lack of writing on that, but this news did play a role.  I think the bigger thing hanging over my head last week was how much this is not what I planned for this semester.  More on this later in the week, but this semester hasn’t exactly been good to me.

Moving forward I keep thinking about inertia.  Inertia is a very scientific term, but I think the concept can be applied to all areas of life.  Inertia is the idea that objects in motion stay in motion unless acted upon by an outside force, and conversely: objects at rest stay at rest unless acted upon by an outside force.

When I was in LA I was in motion.  I had my class, and a schedule to stick to that kept me in motion.  When my class ended it was the outside force that slowed my writing and my creativity.  Now, especially last week, I’ve been at rest.  I just need to somehow start the engine again so I can continue.

Yesterday I went to Muir Woods with my parents to celebrate Mother’s Day.  It was at my mom’s request, but I think it may have been just the jump start I need to get myself back in motion.  I took tons of pictures and some video while I was there, and I can’t wait to see how it turned out.

This week I want to make something with the footage I shot in Muir Woods.  I want to write a treatment for the pilot I’ve been putting off.  I want to keep journaling.  I want to get out of the house more, and I want to be inspired by this city.  I want to write flash fiction and poetry.  I want to read books and comics and I want to watch good television.

Related: I just finished the series I was working on on Netflix, any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

