Writing About Writing (week of June 10)

They say if you want to be good at something you need to practice every day.  I started Writing About Writing as a way of keeping myself accountable for how much I was writing outside of my school work.  Everything counts.  Emails, journals, scripts, blogging, even excessive tweeting.
Over time this space has become a way of keeping track of weekly goals in other areas of my life as well as writing.  A statement of what I’ve done, and what I want to do.  A weekly record of my successes and failures, for better or for worse.

Monday: journal (1)
blog – welcome
Tuesday:journal (3)
Wednesday: blog – Kitchen Sink
Thursday: journal (2)
Friday: blog – WAW intro
blog – 4th of July draft
Saturday: journal (2)
blog – new approach
blog – summaries
blog – this post
Sunday: journal ()

Last week I wanted to focus on blog content and planning my move to LA.  I would say that was at least half successful.  I definitely spent some time with my blog content this week, writing some full posts and some drafts for the next weeks and even a bit into next month.  I was also able to come up with a pretty solid editorial calendar for July that I think will be manageable whilst in classes.

I didn’t quite get as much put together as I had wanted for LA, but I did manage to scrape together a plan.  Mom and I are already well on the road and will be meeting with a building manager later today.  Step 1.  What happens from there will partly depend on how well that meeting goes.

This week will be focused on relocating to LA.  I’ve scheduled this week so I don’t have to worry about any last minute blogging, and I’ve even set some of next week so I can focus on moving.  That said, I also want to take really good notes on what is going on this week so I know what to do and who to call in the coming weeks.  Most notably that’s going to mean going over my notes every day to remember what’s going on.  Back to school we go.

Leave a Reply

