Writing About Writing (week of June 24)

They say if you want to be good at something you need to practice every day.  I started Writing About Writing as a way of keeping myself accountable for how much I was writing outside of my school work.  Everything counts.  Emails, journals, scripts, blogging, even excessive tweeting.
Over time this space has become a way of keeping track of weekly goals in other areas of my life as well as writing.  A statement of what I’ve done, and what I want to do.  A weekly record of my successes and failures, for better or for worse.

Monday: blog – superheroes
blog – has been
blog – TV page update
Tuesday:journal (3)
blog – apartment tour
blog – will be
blog – summer break
Wednesday: journal (2)
Thursday:  nothing
Friday: journal (2)
blog – this post
Saturday: journal (5)
blog – Living Proof
Sunday: journal (1)
blog – dollhouse (edit)
blog – the beaten path

If I’m remembering correctly I said last week hat I wanted to re-visit old scripts and plot out the entirety of July and establish a routine for the rest of my life.  Talk about some lofty goals.  Lofty and laughable!  I did no re-visiting of old scripts.  Pah!  And routine?  Please.  I managed to get up and out of the house every day, but I’ll put that more on the fact that I rented a car to do runs and errands before  school started.  The only routine I set was excessive visits to Target.

On that note, I have the apartment in near working order.  Still no internet access, but I’m rocking the cafe, and I don’t even mind the quiet at home.  I just set up the TV and a new blue-ray player because I found a copy of The Newsroom.  I’m a zip through season 1 of that real quick before I get internet at which point I will renew my watch-through of Fringe.  Speaking of Fringe, I made a video trying to explain season 1.  Let me know how that went.

(Also, since I posted that video yesterday I think it technically means that I achieved the goal of posting two videos in June.  Barely, but I did.  What does this mean?  Not much really, but I’m pretty excited about it.)

I was able to set up the next week and a half of blog posts pretty well, and I have a solid editorial calendar planned for the rest of the month.  Get pumped guys, cause I am.  This month is going to be awesome.

As I’ve been saying so often for the past few weeks I’m starting classes again this week.  I’m wildly excited about this.  I told a friend of mine how excited I was and she looked at me like I was crazy.  Apparently it’s abnormal to be excited about school.  So yeah, school.  Don’t quite know what that’s going to bring writing-wise, still in day one.  Okay, I’ll stop talking about it.

I do have other goals for this week though.  On Monday I’m meeting up with a friend to talk about social media management for her jewelry design company, and I just got an email from a woman I met on a retreat last weekend about doing a similar thing with her new blog.  I’m excited to see where these meeting go and what I learn from them.  I guess the ‘goal’ in this is to plan something for these meetings in a way that the awesome ladies I’m working with can get something out of them.  Also to see if this is something I enjoy and would like to do more pointedly in the future.

Also, it’d be nice to have internet access at home at some point this month.  Well.  Maybe.  I’m more worried about missing my summer TV.  #nerd

What are your plans for this week?  Any big goals met last week?

One thought on “Writing About Writing (week of June 24)

  1. On Journals | messages

Leave a Reply

