This Will Be: July 2013

Looking at my goals this month it seems that July will be very career and future focused. Which is exciting, but also a little intimidating. I hope that all this industry focus isn’t too overwhelming before I even begin. Though I suppose my anxieties can be saved for another time.

I started a new block of classes July 1, so I’m already on day two of the semester. This round is called Transmedia Development. When I’ve explained this to people I’ve mostly described transmedia as cross-platform development (developing stories that stretch over TV, social media, video games, ect). This month I’m going to learn how accurate that description is (or is not).

School in this city and industry means networking. I’ll be doing a lot of that this month, and I’m excited to see where it takes me. I’m unashamedly hoping that it gives me the opportunity to intern with a production company or media group I like. That’s goal number next, find a fall internship.

Of course, there will be a few non-school/industry things planned this month too. I’ve got the basics of my apartment down, but I would like to spend some time to make this new space more of a home. I’d also like to host some people for dinner or a movie night. I’m not sure what yet, but I love having people over and playing hostess.

After last month, I think it’s best I keep any vlog-making goals the same as last time. Since I will be focusing more on school, I want to be sure that the majority of my efforts are on my school work. So two videos. We’ll see how it goes.

Other than that? I will be headed to Comic Con for at least a day this month through my school and I’m wildly excited. I’m trying to determine what to cos-play as. Poison Ivy? Mrs. Reynolds from Firefly? (I’d have to cut my hair) I’d like to use my natural hair color, but if a character is red-headed, they’re usually all the way red, not halfsies like me. I know, first world problems.

There’s also a possibility that my mom and or sister will come down to LA to hang out with me for a weekend. I haven’t seen the sister since Christmas, so it would be awesome to see her, and fun to show off my new place. As complicated as my feelings are on this city, I’m starting to have favorite places that I’m simply itching to share with people.

What are your goals for the month?  Any wild plans for this craziness?

Leave a Reply

