I Was Not Ready For That

not ready

The sole party I went to in high school was my class’ graduation party. Technically, that means that the only party I went to in high school I actually attended after high school, but let’s not get bogged down by logistics here.

After I had been there about an hour or so, hanging out with some friends of mine, last chance signing a few yearbooks, someone came into the living room and started talking up whatever it was he was about to do. “You’ll ready for this? Are you ready?…” As much as we said we were ready he wasn’t taking our word for it.

Suddenly he flipped the lights off and turned on a strobe. He was wearing gloves with lights on the fingertips and did cool tricks with them. As much as I had claimed to be ready, I was so not ready. I shut my eyes tight and waited for them to turn the lights back on. Clearly there was a reason I didn’t party much in high school. Or college. Or whatever this college/post-college time turns out to be.

Coming into this program, having gone through the all-day, all-week classes once already I figured it would be simple enough. The topic and work would be different, but overall it would be a similar experience. #nope

Maybe it’s because I’m living further away from the studio. Maybe because I literally just got internet access two days ago. Maybe this program is more work, or the different format is throwing me off. Maybe, maybe, maybe. I don’t know why this round has been so much more exhausting, but it has. So much more.

Tomorrow I’m going to San Diego Comic Con. This is the holy grail of nerd-dom. It’s also the largest convention of iconic pop culture in the world. As much as I’m excited – and don’t get me wrong, I’m excited – I’m also slightly exhausted at the thought of it.  All those people and all these things that I’ll want to see.  It’s easy to get overwhelmed, and little miss introvert me is going to need a full day of recovery after.

The good news is that I know a few out others who are going, so I’ll be able to meet up with people I know, having friends always makes things much less intimidating.

Have you ever been completely overwhelmed? What happened? Are you going to be at SDCC? If you’ll be around, let me know and we can meet up!

2 thoughts on “I Was Not Ready For That

  1. This Has Been: July 2013 Edition | Rachel Ann

Leave a Reply

