This Will Be: August 2013 Edition

Since I started school July 1st, there has been a handful of things that I knew I wouldn’t get to until I finished school in August.  I started the proper list of things to do last week and it includes everything from finding an internship and a car to a short list of online shopping.

Priority for me is probably to find a scooter.  I knew from the start that I would be able to manage through my truncated semester without a serious form of transportation, but that’s not going to be an option for much longer.  I need a reliable way of getting to who knows where I need to go.  I have the gear and the license, the only thing I need now is the vehicle.

Second priority has to be finding an internship.  I have a few leads and know sort of where I’m interested in going, but it’s time to pound the pavement and find one.  I sense cold calls in my future.  Ideally I would start an internship when I start my online classes in September, but I’m open to starting earlier.

Beyond that there are a few miscellaneous things I’d like to start planning, some of which is already in the works.  A writers group with some of my classmates from the fall, some secondary learning stuff with classmates from the summer, and a camping trip later in the month.  I want to go camping so bad you guys, I’m excited to put a trip together.

Also making up the list mentioned at the beginning of this post are a few events here in LA that I’m hoping will build my network, a few friends parties, and joining the church I’ve been attending.  I’ve also planned for helping out a friend with social media marketing (and possibly seeing if it’s something I could do some consulting in).  I want to find a yoga studio and I want to write the spec pilot for the IP I’ve been working on.

This month feels like a long list of things, but it also feels like it should be a long list if only because I’ve now gotten a decent sized chunk of unstructured time coming my way.  Starting Saturday I’ll be done with all school things and I’ll be on my own to schedule and coordinate myself.

What’s your plan for August?  Any big goal marks to hit this month?

Leave a Reply

