Writing About Writing (week of July 29)

1-DSC_0050

They say if you want to be good at something you need to practice every day.  I started Writing About Writing as a way of keeping myself accountable for how much I was writing outside of my school work.  Everything counts.  Emails, journals, scripts, blogging, even excessive tweeting.
Over time this space has become a way of keeping track of weekly goals in other areas of my life as well as writing.  A statement of what I’ve done, and what I want to do.  A weekly record of my successes and failures, for better or for worse.

Monday: journal (2)
school – pitch
blog – WAW
Tuesday:journal (2)
blog – writing your way up
blog – Will Be
Wednesday: school – pitch change
Thursday: nothing
Friday: nothing
Saturday: journal (3)
school – IP bible final edits
Sunday: journal (2)
blog – this post
blog – apartment tour

Last week I wanted to – and did – focus almost solely on pitching and finishing off the last week of school strong.  All told my class pitched our individual ideas six times to six different production/media/game companies.  It was really insightful and I came out of it with a few contacts to follow up on in finding internships and possibly jobs down the line.  We’ll see how it goes.

Since I’m finished with school this week I have a lot of unscheduled time on my hands, but also a lot of things planned.  For one thing, I’ve got a few interviews next week to jump start my internship searching process.  Meanwhile, I’m having people over this week to discuss starting a writer’s group with my class from the Spring.  I also want to step it up on the blogging front.  I have ideas for most of August, and want to start out strong, writing out as many of them as possible.

I’m also having a few visitors this week.  My friend Allason is coming for a few days, and my sister is coming next weekend.  Thankfully I spent most of this past weekend organizing my apartment so there will be space for people.

Leave a Reply

