Feels Like Home: Work Space

As I am only just now getting to the point where I feel like I’m living in this space instead of just inhabiting it, I want to take some time to show how I’m using it.  Since the whole apartment isn’t ready to be shown yet, I’m going to be doing this in stages.  Today the part that’s ready is my works space.

1-DSC_0069

The entire wall to the left side upon entering the apartment is taken up by a long table that serves as a media space and a desk/work space.  I never work and watch TV at the same time, so my desk being so close to the TV isn’t a problem.  I love the way it looks when I come in, clean.

2-DSC_0071

On the media side I’ve got a cart (it was in the coffee table section of the store, how bizarre, right?) loaded up with my printer and all the devices to hook up to the TV.  I love that all my electronics are on a cart that I can pull out when I need to use the copy function on the printer or re-arrange the cords in the back.  Makes my life that much easier.

5-DSC_0076

On the desk side of things these drawers are slowly filling up with knick-knacks and office supplies.  In general, the top drawer is pens, chargers, and other often used items, down to the bottom drawer of envelopes and “bulk” extra items (more business cards, box of pens, ect).

The pillow was a gift from my grandma because she heard I was going to go to London to do study abroad…. Well, that was the plan.  It moves around and is sometimes swapped with a city-scape one I have that’s the same size and shape.

4-DSC_0074

Currently on my desk top I’ve got my laptop and mouse, my journal and phone, my planner and notes, along with a water bottle and a cup for water.  I always try to have water on hand while working, that way I don’t have to get up.  Just planning ahead.  And planning for the rest of the week.

3-DSC_0072

Lastly the stuff on the wall above the desk area.  This will change and evolve over time, but for now there’s not much to see.  A cool looking logo from a company my class toured (top left), and a sticker from a speaker (bottom, snakes).  I’ve got a “Come Back For Me” notice from the LA county shelter (more on this later in the week), and my American Airlines info is covered with a white post it.

The Want/Will/Wont list guidelines are derived from this episode of Sexplanations (awesome web series, check it out).  It’s a system of figuring out what you are looking for in a situation and then something to consult when making decisions (I’m not explaining this well, watch the video).  The Ideas/(?)/Understand/Summary chart is a new system of taking notes I’m trying.  We’ll see how it goes.

The table is a desk from IKEA.  The cart is also from IKEA and is listed as a coffee table.  The TV and Blue-Ray player are from Best Buy.  My printer is an Epson Artisan 730 I got on sale at Staples.  The blue basket and the lamp are from Target.  The chair is from a thrift store and the London pillow, backpack (Osprey‘s Flap Jack Pack), and my Roku were given to me.

One thought on “Feels Like Home: Work Space

  1. This Has Been: August 2013 | Rachel Ann

Leave a Reply

