Writing About Writing (week of August 5)

1-DSC_0050

They say if you want to be good at something you need to practice every day.  I started Writing About Writing as a way of keeping myself accountable for how much I was writing outside of my school work.  Everything counts.  Emails, journals, scripts, blogging, even excessive tweeting.
Over time this space has become a way of keeping track of weekly goals in other areas of my life as well as writing.  A statement of what I’ve done, and what I want to do.  A weekly record of my successes and failures, for better or for worse.

Monday: nothing
Tuesday: journal (2)
research notes
Wednesday: blog – I did what I could
Thursday: blog – Fall TV
Friday: emails
Saturday: journal (3)
Sunday: sermon notes
blog – this post

What were my goals for last week?  Did I have any specifics?  I think I just wanted to get my life in order and spend time with kitty.  Well, if that was the case I think I failed on both counts.  While I set up a few things, I also messed some stuff up.  I missed a deadline and had to put the kitten down (whole story here).

In the meantime, my sister came to visit, so I spent most of the weekend days hanging with her.  Whenever we’re together all I can see is how hipster we seem.  We made quinoa burgers and she went with me to look at scooters.  I put down a deposit for a scooter you guys, I’m super pumped.

This week I’ll be pretty much on my own all week which I am pretty excited about.  I have two interviews, but besides that I am able to set my own schedule.  It’s going to include lots of friends, picking up a new-to-me scooter, and some writing time.

My only solid goal for this week is to write every day.  As to what I’d like to write, I want to get some blog posts scheduled up.  I’m working day-to-day lately, which is the blogging equivalent to eating hand to mouth.  I want to stop that.  I’d also like to pick a scripty project to work on and get started with an outline.

Leave a Reply

