Writing About Writing (week of August 12)

1-DSC_0050

They say if you want to be good at something you need to practice every day.  I started Writing About Writing as a way of keeping myself accountable for how much I was writing outside of my school work.  Everything counts.  Emails, journals, scripts, blogging, even excessive tweeting.
Over time this space has become a way of keeping track of weekly goals in other areas of my life as well as writing.  A statement of what I’ve done, and what I want to do.  A weekly record of my successes and failures, for better or for worse.

Monday: journal (2)
Tuesday:journal (1)
blog – nerves
blog – 2nd screen
Wednesday: emails
Thursday: journal (2)
blog – food idea
Friday: free write
blog – not cooking
blog – summer TV
blog – 2nd screen
Saturday: journal (3)
Sunday: journal (1)
blog – this post

I’m pretty happy with what I got last week.  Not only did I write every day, but I also got a lot of other little things that were on my monthly goals list done.  I finished the process of joining the church I’ve been going to (I’ll be confirmed in September).  The writers group I wanted to help start up is under way.  And on Saturday I picked up my scooter from the shop.

Oh, and bonus, I got a pretty major haircut to join the movement that has become the #hairforhazel and #itgrowsback campaign.  It started when Shailene Woodly decided to donate her hair to Children with Hair Loss as she got it cut to play Hazel in the upcoming The Fault in Our Stars movie.  My hair was long enough, so I figured why not.  I think it will be good for a while to not have to worry about it.  Not that I spent that much of my time before worrying about my hair, but now it will be even less.  And I’ve got plenty to worry about.

There is a lot of stuff going on this week from interviews to organizational stuff for the new semester.  There also needs to be a trip to the DMV in there and hopefully some fun stuff too because my friend Allason just got here last night.  We want to go surfing, and possibly rock climbing.  Not to mention the multitude of groups I’m in that are meeting up this week.  Oy vey.

As far as writing goals, I’m afraid that a few other things take precedence this week.  All I’m hoping for is some journal writing and to get all my ducks in a row for internships starting in a few weeks.  Not exactly writing, but somewhat related.

Leave a Reply

