This Will Be: December 2013

The last month of the year is going to be a big push to try and finish off the semester on good terms and get ready for the the new year by setting goals and preparing for the job hunt. It’s surreal to me that I will be done with school in two weeks. I am excited for this month, but I’m also ecstatic about all that 2014 will have to offer. I’m getting a bit ahead of myself though, for now I need to focus on what I’m planning for the rest of 2013.

I feel like I’ve set the goal of routine creation multiple times over the course of this year and it’s never quite gotten done in the way I’ve been aiming for, but I’m starting to think that I’m aiming for the wrong thing. I seem to want every day to be regimented and set in place. While that’s a nice thought, it isn’t really practical for where I’m at in life right now.

The real routine I want is a waking up and going to bed routine. I would be great to have a weekly grocery shopping, laundry doing, writing routine as well, but for now I want to focus on getting into and out of bed on a daily basis without the fuss that seems to happen a lot now. When I was home over Thanksgiving I was amazed by how easy it was to wake up at 8. Part of it may have been the way the light came into my room, but I think a lot of it was how used to getting up and out of bed I was in that setting.

Probably the most important thing for the next two weeks is that I finish off my semester – and my academic career – without falling on my face. I’m not aiming for perfection here, I just want to complete the semester with my sanity in tact. The movie Saving Mr. Banks comes out the Friday I am finishing up with my semester and I am wildly excited for this movie. I’m going to treat myself to seeing it, but only when I’ve handed in all my final projects. This is my motivational tool.

After school and my internships are done I will be free to focus on my writing portfolio and my goals for next year. I really like the idea of the One Little Word system, I just need to figure out what role that and other goal setting ideas will play in my own personal goal setting for 2014.

I want to really push back into blogging this month. I have three days a week of posts in at least a concept phase already, a lot of the next two weeks is even already written. I want to get back to the level I was at in August before the semester got crazy. I haven’t completely fallen off the bandwagon, but I really do need to press in. Of course, this will be much easier when I am done with school.

A huge part of job hunting for me is going to be having a good writing portfolio. This may not come into play right away, but down the line this will be critical and I’d like to start working on it sooner rather than later. I know for sure of one piece I will be able to put into a portfolio once I polish it a bit, so that will be the first step, but I’d also like to come up with a list of what I eventually want in my portfolio so that I can focus on things that will be helpful for me. One piece, and a list. That’s all I want.

Leave a Reply

