This Has Been: December 2013/2013

This has been quite the month. Quite the year. My goals this month were pretty simple. I wanted to finish school on a good note and get back to blogging, both of which I would call semi-successful. I’ll admit that this semester was pretty bad for my academically, but I’m okay with that because I know that the energy that usually would have gone into school actually went into my two internships and something tells me that since I’ll still be graduating (cum laude!) the connections I made through my internship will be more useful in the long run.

After I turned in all my papers and submitted everything that needed submitting, I felt a little lost. I spent a lot of time in my apartment watching TV (a desperate attempt to catch up on everything I had fallen behind on over the semester). I was glad to go home to San Francisco for the week of Christmas. It was good to get away from Car-land and spend some time with MUNI. Christmas was just my immediate family, but it was nice for my sister and I to both be home at the same time. I got something I wanted, something I needed, something to wear, and somethings to read.

Another great part about San Francisco is that I was able to spend time with some old friends from high school. I got to reconnect with a bunch of people from my class that I probably haven’t talked to since graduation. We are all so different from what we were, the dynamics are familiar, but a stretched to include people we may not have been as close within the past, as well as a few significant others.

As wonderful as it was to spend time with friends and family, it has also been good for me to get back to Los Angeles. I got to spend some time reflecting on the year and thinking about all the plans I have for the next days, weeks, and months that will make up a brand new year. I will ring in the New Year tonight with my MOSAIC family, and I couldn’t be more excited.

As for the year? 2013 was a year full of growth and movement. I knew from the beginning that I would be ending this year in Los Angeles, but I had no idea how that was going to work. Getting to where I’m at has been a bumpy road, but I am very excited to be here. I learned a lot this year, probably most of it in the last few months of figuring out what I want from my life and how to live better, and I hope to be able to take those lessons and apply them to my life next year with new-found freedom.

Leave a Reply

