Phrases to Live by: Get Up, Dress Up, and Show Up

1-WP_20131222_002

Get up, Dress up, and Show up.

I’m not even sure where I first heard this phrase. I seem to remember it from childhood, though I can’t remember my mom ever saying it to me. “Put a sweater on” when I complained of cold, yes, but not this one. I seem to have just taken it from whoever or wherever I heard it from and repeated it over and over until it became a part of my inner monologue.

Lately I’ve been seriously lacking in motivation. Since I finished school in December I’ve been filled with ideas, but all I’ve WANTED to do is sit around and watch TV. I’ve been slacking the most here. Even though we’re more than a week into the new year this is my first blog post of the year.

Looking back I remember a time when I consistently put out four blog posts a week, but now I don’t even know how to begin. It’s been so long that inertia has rocketed me into inactivity.  The unfortunate thing about inertia means that once at rest, I’m likely to stay there.

Thankfully, it only takes a little push to start building inertia in the other direction. So this is my promise to myself. Even when I’m not feeling like doing anything I’m going to get up (hopefully before 9am), dress up (even if only in yoga pants), and show up (to whatever the day has in store for me).

I have a long list of ideas of people to contact and emails to send. What I need sooner rather than later is a job. But until then get up, dress up, show up. To job applications, to exercise, to friendships, to church, to blogging.

Nothing ever happens if you don’t show up.

One thought on “Phrases to Live by: Get Up, Dress Up, and Show Up

Leave a Reply

