Thoughts on the Academy Awards: The Selfie That Broke Twitter

Despite not watching many movies over the course of a year (the only best picture nominee I saw was Gravity), I still make an effort to watch the Academy Awards. I missed the Golden Globes this year, but was invited to an Oscar party and arrived happily as instructed: on time with a bag of chips*.

I don’t know that I have a favorite part of a four hour stint watching people I don’t know accept awards for performances I (for the most part) didn’t see, but Ellen Degeneres makes everything better.

Some highlights (and links to explanations where appropriate):

  • Ellen taking a selfie and crashing twitter. Because that perfectly explains why my phone wouldn’t load the app in my attempt to re-tweet.
  • Jennifer Lawrence eating pizza. Because she refuses to starve herself.
  • Idina Menzel singing Let it Go.
  • Realizing (after the fact) how badly John Travolta mispronounced Idina Mezel and this twitter account that came out of it.
  • Benedict Cumberbatch.
  • Lupita Nyoug’o’s best supporting actress speech. Absolutely stunning.
  • The slightly belated tribute to Sarah Jones. Thank you.
  • Ending on time.

 

Of course, all this celebration brings up questions too. There is sure to be a strong backlash from Cate Blanchett winning the Best Lead Actress award. Not only does this pass over Sandra Bullock when Gravity nearly swept for many of the categories it was nominated for, but the win will also bring up the Dylan Farrow controversy again.

While I’ve never been a Woody Allen fan per-se, I’m also not not a fan. I wish that we lived in a society that didn’t demonize women for accusing men of indecency. If you believe Dylan Farrow or not is up to you, but by dismissing her completely you choose to continue the trend of society believing and supporting old, white men by default. This is not something I wish to support.

That being said, I also try to separate the work that individuals do on a project from my feelings of other individuals who may have been involved. While I may not agree with Woody Allen or his work, I can appreciate Cate Blanchett’s work on Blue Jasmine. Or at least I can hypothetically, I didn’t actually see the movie, so this is pretty much all in the hypothetical.

Award shows are fun to watch, but at what point does honoring someone’s work become validating a lifestyle that we don’t actually want to support?

*Actually I was ten minutes late, but I was still the first one to arrive. Why is chronic lateness a thing?

Leave a Reply

