Lent This Year

When I first started thinking of lent* a few weeks ago I thought of what would be most productive for me to give up. I jokingly thought to myself that it would be best if I were able to give up procrastination. Because I don’t eat a lot of meat to begin with and my “TV habit” is under control. I use social media for job hunting and human connections, but procrastination? That’s everywhere.

But since it’s everywhere it’s nearly impossible to regulate. I can’t just give up one website or one application and call it a day, because as soon as I stop using that, I’ll find another to replace it with. But the more I thought about it, the more I couldn’t get the idea out of my head. In giving up procrastination I am giving up a lot of little things that I hope will bring consciousness of where I’m at and where I’m headed.

Lenten Rules:

  • Awake at or before 9am.
  • Quiet time for an hour each day.
  • Yoga at 8:45 every weekday (baring other morning commitments)
  • Blocked sites: Buzzfeed, Upworthy, Thought Catalog, Huffington Post
  • No reading fanfiction

Note that I am not blocking myself from Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube or Tumblr. These sites in and of themselves are not the problem. The problem (for me) are the links that my friends share on these sites. The list posts that lead to quizzes and start with one thing, but spiral into me looking up from the computer and asking when it got dark and how it’s already tomorrow.

Of course, this isn’t a catch all. I’m sure to find other things to procrastinate with, but I’m hoping that this base will make me more aware of falling into a hole of procrastination and more able to pull myself out of it. I’m sure that as the season goes on, I will find other things to add to the not allowed list. But I think this will be my most successful lent-en fast yet.

Even with less than a week with these rules I’ve noticed an effect. How much time a day do I spend doing exactly what I want all the time? At the moment, pretty much all of it. And a lot of that time is spent online derping around with no purpose whatsoever. It’s not what I want in the long term, but it’s what I think I need in the moment.

Spending time outside of these things has forced me to consider what I’m working on. I’ve realized this weekend that I have a lot of work to do if I want to meet the goals I set out to accomplish for the quarter and it seems to be a bit of a kick in the butt to get going. Lent is a time for thinking about the bigger picture, and seeing what comes from a more purposeful walk with God and a more considered life.

*A thorough explanation of Lent

Leave a Reply

