This Has Been: March 2014

I have been pretty absent here for the past few weeks. I hate when bloggers apologize for not blogging, so I’m not going to do that. I’ve had a full month and my focuses were elsewhere. Sometimes life is like that. That being said, I spent some time this past weekend getting back up to speed and hope to be a bit more regular in these parts. For a reminder of what I was planning for this month go back to the start. This has been March.

Career and Finance

While I still haven’t found a job, I have kicked it up a notch in trying to find one. I have been putting myself out there more and working as a PA (sometimes paid, often not but good for the contacts and experience). A friend of mine also got me hooked in with a network that will be a great resourse going forward. This was a pretty big push for me this month and I’m glad that it was a focus.

I didn’t file my taxes yet, but I did print out a 1040. It’s the thought that counts? (If only it was that easy)

Education

I did finish five books this month and am still working on a handful more. I find that I’m constantly in the middle of at least half a dozen books, though usually only actively reading two or three. Check out my GoodReads profile to follow what I’ve been working on, and keep an eye out here for a few reviews of what I’ve read so far this year. 

I did spend some time thinking about the blog, but between friends being here and focusing on job hunting I didn’t post of re-organize as much as I had hoped. I’m fine with this for now though, because the things I was focusing on definitely come first. #sorryImnotsorry

Relationships

My roommates coming to visit was a clear highlight of my month. Between them and another friend from my early days in Chicago coming for a visit, I’ve had my fill of playing tour guide for a little while this month. I enjoyed having them here, and got a chance to explore the city more which has lit a fire that I hope to expand upon in the coming weeks and months.

Health

I can’t even believe that I failed at going to two yoga classes. I went to one, so that has to count for something, but I definitely did not quite have my act together on this one.

Other

Renewing my scooter was kind of a hassle because I had some insurance snags that meant I had to go to the DMV in person. Since I was also late (unbeknownst to me), it cost a pretty penny too. The good news is that it’s done and I don’t have to deal with that again for a year.

Another failure was window washing. I don’t think I’ll roll it over into the next month again though. I just don’t seem to have the motivation to get through to this one. On the other hand, I did finally get around to buying a real dining table (as opposed to the card table I’ve been using), along with a few other things from IKEA, so now my apartment feels even more homey than before and I love it.

 

Leave a Reply

