This Will Be: April 2014

April is the launch of a new quarter and a new set of goals. More on the specifics of that next week, but I’m excited to jump into this month. My focus this month is absolutely on job hunting. I’ve been using a spreadsheet to track what jobs I’ve applied to and… I’m getting ahead of myself. Here’s some of my goals and plans for April.

Career

Of course, the continued job hunt. I have a list of companies I’m going to be looking into that I’m sure will continue to grow as the month goes on and I come into contact with people who can help me along. Every time I start to panic (which isn’t too often yet), I remind myself that the average job hunt takes 3-6 months and includes ~100 applications.

April is the start of a new quarter and a new focus (which again, I’ll talk about next week more), but one of the goals for the quarter is to write a short film. I have an idea to work with, and this month I’d like to start to beat out the story and outline the film.

Similar to above, I’ll be working on writing and putting out more consistent content on the blog. This month my goal is to get up to three posts a week. I don’t have any visitors planned this month, so hopefully it’ll be a little easier to stay on track for April.

Education

A friend of mine offered to teach me how to longboard a few weeks ago and I’m hoping to take her up on it this month. I’ve surfed and snowboarded before, so I’m excited and a little scared to be trying this out. While it will be a great way to connect to the city, falling on concrete will hurt more than into water or on snow.

Relationships

I want to get back into serving at my church and investing in the relationships I have there. I’ve served on the production team for a few months, but haven’t been scheduled as often as I’d like to be. This month I’m going to sit down with my planner and request a few days to plug back into this community.

Seeing as this month is also Easter, I am going to try and get some friends together to celebrate Easter. I don’t really know who’s going to be in town or what’s going to be happening, but I know I want to do something more this year than I did last year (I didn’t really celebrate last year besides going to church).

Health

Somehow I feel like this month will be great for hiking. It’s something I’m excited to be getting back into and will hopefully be able to work into my schedule a little more often.

See also: Education. If longboarding isn’t exercise than what’s the point?

What are your plans for April?

Leave a Reply

