One Little Word: Planning Freedom Wrap Up

At the beginning of the year I decided to split my goals for the year into three quarters, each of which would focus on one phrase that includes my word for the year: Free. The first quarter was about Planning Freedom. During the first three months of the year I worked on three goals to set myself up for the rest of the year to varying degrees of effectiveness.

Find a job. NO. I didn’t complete this within the time, but I dare-say I made a decent sized dent in trying once I put my mind to it. I had trouble at first getting into the mindset of applying for jobs, but once I started forcing myself to just do it, applying became easier. I’ve applied to about 50 jobs so far and gone on a few interviews.

While I had hoped to have found something by now, I’m comforted by statistics. An average job hunt takes three to six months – a parameter I am well within – and includes 100 applications. Not only am I halfway there on both counts, I’ve spent some time figuring out a system of applying that will serve me well if/when I am ever job hunting again. (Hint: it involves spreadsheets because I’m a NERD)

Re-launch and re-design the blog. NOT DONE.

This one I’m a little upset about, but I have no one to blame but myself. While I set this as a goal for three months I didn’t make an actual plan to complete it which meant that I wound up scrambling to attempt to start in the middle of March.

In slightly better news I did start, so I am still hoping to make some progress on this one. My focus will be on the above unfinished task, but I’m hoping to make some progress on blogging even if it is mostly focusing on content, something I’m planning on tacking in the second quarter.

Create good habits. YES?

There is a question mark there because this is a task that will likely never actually be complete. No matter how many goals and spreadsheets and habits I manage, creating rituals out of everyday tasks will always be an evolving job.

I’m glad to say that I’ve been working on this one the whole three months and have been taking notes of both what has and has not been working from when I’m the most productive to how best to complete daily and weekly tasks like doing dishes and laundry. Whatever my schedule is in the next days, weeks, and months, I’ll be able to take what I learned in these past few months and apply it to whatever my life winds up looking like in the future. If that’s not a win I don’t know what is.

*

While this first quarter wasn’t quite all I had hoped for I am still excited about these goals individually. I still plan on working with these goals in the coming months and hope to complete them soon. I’m also excited for my goals for the next quarter which I’ll be sharing later this week.

Next quarter: Free Write

Leave a Reply

