4th of July Television

Guys, I watch a lot of TV. And since I live in the US, a handful of those shows happen to revolve around United States government and policies. I figured that with the 4th of July tomorrow, it would be good to round up a few US themed TV shows that would make for good marathoning this weekend.

THE WEST WING
Topping the list is a favorite of mine, The West Wing. The show last seven seasons and focused on the senior staff of fictional president Jed Bartlet. While, it’s somewhat dated now, if you ignore the bulky computers and reliance on pagers, I think it holds up surprisingly well.

HOUSE OF CARDS
It would be impossible to make this list without including House of Cards, the Netflix show that just put up their second season. This show focuses on the twisted plotting that happens in Washington and features Kevin Spacey. I actually haven’t seen season two yet (though I’ve been spoiled a bit), so this will be my weekend watching material.

JAG & NCIS
NCIS has been going for so long (they start season 13 this fall) that it’s almost hard to remember that it started off as a spin off of JAG. NCIS investigates crimes in the navy and marines, and JAG prosecutes. Either one would be fantastic watching for this weekend, and without even looking I can pretty solidly say that USA network will have an NCIS marathon going.

PARKS AND REC
With all this drama, it would be good to remember that sometimes government can be lighthearted too. Parks & Rec follows the idealistic Leslie Knope and her team at the Parks and Recreation department in small town Indiana. The show will be coming back for a final season in the fall, so nows a good time to catch up!

SLEEPY HOLLOW
This one’s for the lit geeks. In this adaption of the classic short story, Ichabod Crane wakes up in 2014 and partners with a local police lieutenant to investigate strange happenings in Sleepy Hollow. Part history lesson, part supernatural serial, Sleepy Hollow was my favorite new show last season and I’m PUMPED for season 2 to start up.

HOMELAND
I was hesitant to put this show on the list because it’s the only one I haven’t watched, but it fits so well with this theme I have to include it. From what I hear it’s set in the CIA with agents trying to prevent a terrorist attack. I’m sure it is a lot more complicated than that, especially since it’s won a multitude of awards for the series as a whole as well as acting, writing, and directing.

*

I hope everyone has a fantastic weekend no matter their country of origin. To those of you in the US, enjoy your day off and stay safe this weekend.

Leave a Reply

